The Institute of Patent and Trade Mark Attorneys of Australia is the representative body for Australian patent and trade mark attorneys.

This site provides the latest news and resource information about patent and trade mark law in Australia.

Current News

Level 2, 302 Burwood Road
Hawthorn VIC 3122 Australia

PO Box 419 Hawthorn
VIC 3122 Australia

P 613 9819 2004
F 613 9819 6002

The Institute Council

The affairs of the Institute are managed by a Council elected annually from Fellows of the Institute. The Council comprises one president, two vice-presidents, ten Fellows and the immediate past president. All positions are voluntary and the Council endeavours to meet on a six weekly basis, or at least  eight meetings are conducted annually.

The members of Council for the period May 2014 to April 2015 are:


  • Ms Anne Makrigiorgos

Vice Presidents:

  • Mr Jeremy Dobbin
  • Mr Richard Baddeley


  • Mr Michael Angliss
  • Ms Janelle  Borham
  • Mr Michael Caine
  • Dr Trevor Davies
  • Ms Christine Emmanuel
  • Mr Greg Gurr
  • Ms Jennifer McEwan
  • Dr Damian Slizys
  • Mr Stuart  Smith
  • Mr David Tadgell

Immediate Past President:

  • Mr Graham Cowin