Committees & Representatives

THE INSTITUTE COMMITTEES

The affairs of the Council have been separated into distinct areas in order to share the workload amongst the members of Council. Each distinct area is the responsibility of a committee and each committee is convened by a member of Council.

THE CURRENT COMMITTEES AND THEIR CONVENORS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

Committee & ContactEmail
Finance and Secretariat Committee
(incorporating Fees)
Dr Grant Shoebridge
grant.shoebridge@ipta.org.au
Membership Committee
Ms Christine Emmanuel
christine.emmanuel@ipta.org.au
Patents Legislation Committee
Mr William Hird
william.hird@ipta.org.au
Patent Practice & IP Australia Business Relations Committee
Mr Philip Gehrig
philip.gehrig@ipta.org.au
International Patents Committee
Mr William Hird
william.hird@ipta.org.au
Trade Marks Committee (Australia + International)
Ms Jennifer McEwan
Mr Ian Drew
jennifer.mcewan@ipta.org.au
ian.drew@ipta.org.au


Designs Legislation and Practice
Committee (Australia &
New Zealand)

Ms Allira Hudson-Gofers
allira.hudson-gofers@ipta.org.au
Ethics & Disputes Committee
Dr John Landells
john.landells@ipta.org.au
In-House Members & Commercialisation Committee
Mr Brendan Cheong
Dr Anna Johnston
brendan.cheong@ipta.org.au
anna.johnston@ipta.org.au
Education Committee
Dr Andrew Jones
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
Rules Committee
Ms Christine Emmanuel
christine.emmanuel@ipta.org.au
Public Relations Committee
Dr Grant Shoebridge
Dr Claire Gregg
grant.shoebridge@ipta.org.au
claire.gregg@ipta.org.au
Publications & Website Committee
Dr Anna Johnston
Mr Brendan Cheong
anna.johnston@ipta.org.au
brendan.cheong@ipta.org.au
Plant Breeder’s Rights Committee
Dr Annabella Newton
annabella.newton@ipta.org.au
Annual Conference and Events Committee
Ms Jennifer McEwan
jennifer.mcewan@ipta.org.au
New Zealand Legislation & IPONZ
Business Relations Committee

Dr John Landells
john.landells@ipta.org.au
Future Directions Committee
Dr Andrew Jones
Dr Claire Gregg
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
claire.gregg@ipta.org.au
YIPTA Committee
Dr Andrew Jones
Dr Annabella Newton
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
annabella.newton@ipta.org.au

STATE REPRESENTATIVES

The Council also has nominated representatives in each state.  Those nominated representatives are as follows:

DivisionEmail
NSW Division
Dr Andrew Jones
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
Queensland Division
Mr Adam Luxton
adam.luxton@jamesandwells.com
South Australian Division
Mr Mark O’Donnell
Mark.ODonnell@madderns.com.au
Victorian Division
Dr Annabella Newton
annabella.newton@ipta.org.au
Western Australian Division
Mr Gary Cox
gary.cox@wrays.com.au

THE IPTA SECRETARIAT contact details:

The Secretariat may be contacted via mail@ipta.org.au, or on 03 9639 4377

Executive Secretary: Katharine Meade

Assistant Executive Secretary: Christina Kerr

Bookkeeper/Admin Assistant: Susie Maamary