Committees & Representatives

THE INSTITUTE COMMITTEES

The affairs of the Council have been separated into distinct areas in order to share the workload amongst the members of Council. Each distinct area is the responsibility of a committee and each committee is convened by a member of Council.

THE CURRENT COMMITTEES AND THEIR CONVENORS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

Committee & ContactPhoneEmail
Finance and Secretariat Committee
(incorporating Fees)
Mr David Tadgell
(03) 9614 1944david.tadgell@ipta.org.au
Membership Committee
Dr Anna Johnston
(03) 9545 8156anna.johnston@ipta.org.au
Patents Legislation Committee
Mr Will Hird
(02) 9293 1000william.hird@ipta.org.au
Patent Practice & IP Australia Business Relations Committee
Mr Philip Gehrig
(02) 9393 0100philip.gehrig@ipta.org.au
International Patents Committee
Mr William Hird
(02) 9293 1000william.hird@ipta.org.au
Trade Marks Committee (Australia + International)
Ms Jennifer McEwan
(03) 9829 0999 jennifer.mcewan@ipta.org.au
Designs Legislation and Practice
Committee (Australia &
New Zealand)

Mr Brendan Cheong
0401 827 715brendan.cheong@ipta.org.au
Ethics & Disputes Committee
Dr Trevor Davies
(02) 9230 4000 trevor.davies@ipta.org.au
In-House Members & Commercialisation Committee
Ms Christine Emmanuel
Mr Brendan Cheong
(03) 9662 7445
0401 827 715
christine.emmanuel@ipta.org.au
brendan.cheong@ipta.org.au
Continuing Professional Education
(CPE) Committee

Ms Janelle Borham
Dr John Landells
Dr Andrew Jones
(03) 9243 8300
(03) 8618 4100
(02) 9564 6171
janelle.borham@ipta.org.au
john.landells@ipta.org.au
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
Education Relations Committee
Ms Christine Emmanuel
(03) 9662 7445christine.emmanuel@ipta.org.au
Rules Committee
Dr Trevor Davies
(02) 9230 4000 trevor.davies@ipta.org.au
Public Relations Committee
Dr Grant Shoebridge
(02) 9777 1111 grant.shoebridge@ipta.org.au
Publications & Website Committee
Dr Andrew Jones
Mr Brendan Cheong
(02) 9564 6171
0401 827 715
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
brendan.cheong@ipta.org.au
Plant Breeder’s Rights Committee
Dr Trevor Davies
(02) 9230 4000 trevor.davies@ipta.org.au
Annual Conference Committee
Ms Jennifer McEwan
(03) 9829 0999jennifer.mcewan@ipta.org.au
New Zealand Legislation& IPONZ
Business
Relations Committee

Dr John Landells
(03) 8618 4100 john.landells@ipta.org.au
Future Directions Committee
Dr Andrew Jones
(02) 9564 6171
andrew.jones@ipta.org.au
YIPTA Committee
Ms Jennifer McEwan
(03) 9829 0999
jennifer.mcewan@ipta.org.au

STATE REPRESENTATIVES

THE COUNCIL ALSO HAS NOMINATED REPRESENTATIVES IN EACH STATE.
THOSE NOMINATED REPRESENTATIVES ARE AS FOLLOWS:

DivisionPhoneEmail
NSW Division
Mr Jeremy Dobbin
(02) 8231 1000 jeremy.dobbin@ipta.org.au
Queensland Division
Mr Adam Luxton
(07) 3011 2200 aluxton@fak.com.au
South Australian Division
Mr Mark O’Donnell
(08) 8311 8311Mark.ODonnell@madderns.com.au
Victorian Division
Mr David Tadgell
(03) 9614 1944 david.tadgell@ipta.org.au
Western Australian Division
Mr Richard Baddeley
(08) 9325 1900 richard.baddeley@ipta.org.au